Alfredo, Shells, Chicken, Broccoli and Cheese!

This is a recipe my sister gave me years ago – I don’t know what its official name is, so that explains why this title is so long!;o) It also leaves no questions as to what is in it. My family has always enjoyed this and it couldn’t be easier to throw together. Thanks for reading!

Ingredients –

  • 1 pound box of shell pasta
  • 1 1/2 – 2 pounds bone-in skin on chicken breast
  • 1 – 14 ounce bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 – 16 ounce jar alfredo sauce
  • 1  – 8 ounce block of sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • salt, pepper and olive oil for roasting chicken
  • lemon pepper

Directions –

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Rinse and pat dry the chicken breasts then season them well with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven for 30 – 35 minutes. Let the chicken cool until you can safely handle it, then shred it  and set it aside.

2. Put a large pot of salted water (at least a gallon) to boil. Once it’s come to a rolling boil pour the pasta into the pot, stir occasionally to prevent sticking and to ensure even cooking. Once it’s finished, drain pasta and set aside.

3. Steam the broccoli in the microwave by dumping the bag in a microwave safe container. Add a little water then cover tightly with plastic wrap – don’t forget to poke a few holes to let steam out. I cooked mine for 4 minutes – they don’t have to be completely cooked through.

4. Get a large bowl out add pasta, shredded chicken, cheese, broccoli and alfredo sauce, then season well with lemon pepper. Spray a 13×9 baking dish with Pam and pour the pasta mixture then sprinkle the top with more cheese. Cover loosely with foil and bake for 25 minutes, then remove foil and bake for another 5 minutes, or if you like your cheese to brown and bubbly, you can place it under the broiler for a few minutes instead. Enjoy!

57 thoughts on “Alfredo, Shells, Chicken, Broccoli and Cheese!

  1. Just wondering how many this would feed? I have a family of 4, but I would love to make this for a larger family gathering! :o)

    • That’s a great question – but I’m not sure that it this would be ideal to feeze. My concern is that the cheese and alfredo sauce may not freeze then reheat well once they’ve been mixed up with all the other ingredients. I did a quick search learned that alfredo sauce and cheese can be frozen on their own, but the texture can be effected once thawed. I know this is a long-winded explanation, but I hope it helps 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. omg I just made this,, the only thing different I made was the chicken,, I just sautéed it with rosemary, olive oil and garlic,,, it was soooo yummy!!!!! it had an olive garden taste!! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!

    • That’s a great question! After looking for some examples online, it might be possible to cook everything minus the pasta in the crock pot. Add the seasoned chicken and the Alfredo sauce to the pot, cover and cook on low. During the last 20 minutes or so, add the thawed broccoli and continue cooking until the broccoli is ready. Cook the pasta according to the package directions and serve the sauce over the pasta then top with the cheese?? I have never slow cooked Alfredo sauce, so I don’t know how well it would hold up. Good luck and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. I just cooked this for me and my date this evening-success! Delicious…I would just add a little bit more salt and pepper since I opted to not add the lemon pepper flavor.

  4. This dish is soooo delicious. I made it today and my family licke their fingers. I would DEFFINITLY make this again. Five star dish 🙂

  5. Made this tonight. I thought it was great!! A little too dry for me, so next time I will decrease the amount of pasta or tweak the amount of sauce. Def will make again tho!!! Delicious!! 🙂

  6. This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. It fed 4 adults and 3 kids and we still have leftovers. I will make this again and again!! Thanks for sharing. YUM!!!!!

  7. Pingback: Best of 2012, Part 1 | Mom Makes...

  8. I’ve made this dish 3 times in the last 3 months! 🙂 I added something different each time but the basics are all the same. I love it!! Thanks! Love the website as well.

  9. Pingback: White Chicken Chili Rachael Ray | How To Bake

  10. Pingback: Creamy Chicken, Broccoli, Alfredo Casserole

  11. I make this about once a month, my family loves it. I use a little more alfredo sauce and add mushrooms and bacon and season with garlic powder.

Leave a comment