Overnight Apple Pie Steel Oats

I bought a container of steel cut oats last week at Publix after seeing a Good Eats episode that featured oats. I have never eaten steel cut oats, so I hope these turn out to be worth the $4.99 I paid for them! I forget how I found this recipe at goodLife eats, maybe via blogger’s Facebook page. I love the warm flavor of cinnamon, brown sugar and apples and I needed to find a recipe that sounded tasty to use these new steel cut oats, so this recipe certainly sound perfect to me! Thankfully I had all the ingredients on hand, except for the cardamom – but I don’t even know what that tastes like, so I don’t think I’ll miss it. Also, I omitted the pecans, because I don’t have any of those either – I’m not much of an “add- nuts-to-my-breakfast” kinda gal! Also, these require an overnight soak or up to 24 hours, so plan accordingly.

This turned out really good – it’s definitely a keeper. I love the crunch of the fresh apple and the spices are just right. I did add a little more brown sugar to mine and then a touch more of cinnamon before I scarfed it down. If you have never tried steel cut oats, this is an excellent recipe to try! Thanks for reading, enjoy!

Overnight Apple Pie Steel Cut Oats – adapted from goodLife Eats

 

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1-2 tablespoons brown sugar (I used two TBSP)
  • 6 ounces all-natural applesauce (my little cup only had 4 ounces)
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon cardamom (I didn’t have any)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large apple, chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/3 cup pecans, chopped (I didn’t have any)

Directions –

In a nonmetal bowl combine oats, brown sugar, applesauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, and salt. Stir in milk; cover and chill for 8 to 24 hours.

To serve, transfer oatmeal mixture to a medium saucepan. Stir in 1 cup of apples, reserving the remaining 1/2 cup for garnish. Heat just to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes or until oatmeal is done, adding additional milk if desired and stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Spoon into 4 bowls; sprinkle with apples and pecans. Serve with additional milk, if desired.

Leave a comment